As Night Falls: A Novel

  • Sale
  • $14.91
  • Regular price $29.03

Attention: For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.


From the acclaimed author of Ruin Falls and Cover of Snow comes a breathless new novel of psychological suspense about a dark, twisted turn of events that could shatter a familya read perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard.

Sandy Tremont has always tried to give her family everything. But, as the sky darkens over the Adirondacks and a heavy snowfall looms, an escaped murderer with the power to take it all away draws close.

In her isolated home in the shadowy woods, Sandy prepares dinner after a fight with her daughter, Ivy. Upstairs, the fifteen-year-oldsmart, brave, and with every reason to be angry tonightkeeps her distance from her mother. Sandys husband, Ben, a wilderness guide, arrives late to find a home simmering with unease.

Nearby, two desperate men on the run make their way through the fading light, bloodstained and determined to leave no loose ends or witnesses. After almost twenty years as prison cellmates, they have become a deadly team: Harlan the muscle, Nick the mind and will. As they approach a secluded house and look through its windows to see a cozy domestic scene, Nick knows that here he will find what hes looking for . . . before he disappears forever.

Opening the door to the Tremont home, Nick brings not only a legacy of terror but a secret that threatens to drag Sandy with him into the darkness.

Praise for As Night Falls

Electric . . . Jenny Milchman mixes psychological thrills with adventure . . . to shoot her readers with an extreme jolt of adrenaline. . . . Milchmans talent for building atmosphere will have readers wondering if theyre shivering from the storys excitement or northern New Yorks winter cold.Shelf Awareness (starred review)

Great psychological thrillers work on two levels: as action-based mysteries and as emotionally resonant personal stories. Jenny Milchman balances both . . . with equal intensity. . . . You may not be able to finish [As Night Falls] in one sitting, but youll want to.BookPage

Gripping . . . a fast-paced tale that should keep readers eagerly turning pages.Publishers Weekly

Praise for Jenny Milchman

Ruin Falls

Tight and suspenseful . . . Milchman has a gift that allows her to delve deep into the mind and psyche of her characters, and fans of dark plots like the works of Gillian Flynn will find another author to savor.RT Book Reviews

Extreme, heart-pounding action . . . essential for psychological thriller fanatics.Library Journal

A complex and intriguing tale, adeptly pacing the narrative as danger escalates.Publishers Weekly

Cover of Snow

Everything a great suspense novel should betense, emotional, mysterious, and satisfying . . . Lets hope this is the start of a long career.Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Personal

An emotional roller-coaster ride through the darkest night, with blinding twists and occasionally fatal turns . . . a richly woven story.Booklist (starred review)

Milchman tackles small-town angst where evil can simmer under the surface with a breathless energy and a feel for realistic characters.The Seattle Times


Customer Reviews