Longer Stories From The Last Decade (Modern Library)

  • Sale
  • $28.47
  • Regular price $63.32

Attention: For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.

With the republication of Longer Stories from the Last Decade, the Modern Library has an original three-volume edition of 123 of Chekhov's stories presented in the translations by Constance Garnett. The stories have been selected by the novelist, historian, and Russian literature expert Shelby Foote, who has provided an introduction to the books in the series.

Longer Stories from the Last Decade includes eleven works written in roughly the last ten years of the writer's life: Three Years, The
Duel, Ward No. 6, The Black Monk, An Anonymous Story, A Woman's Kingdom, The Wife' In the Ravine, Peasants, The
Murder, and My Life. As Shelby Foote writes, this volume of stories calls attention to a broader and deeper talent than has generally
been recognized, either by critics or the reading public, down the years. Chekhov remains indispensable.

Customer Reviews